A walk through the Neighborhood

Yesterday was the first day of winter in Iceland, a holiday for the Old Norse who held that there were only two seasons.

I took a walk as a break from studying, and realized I hadn’t yet explored the paths around the bay Fossvogur.

So that is what I did, it’s a popular route for mountain bikers and walkers and runs from Kópavogur, where I live and which you see below, to Reykjavík proper.

It’s a lovely walk and extends past Nauthólsvík, which is a beach where they pump geothermal waters into the ocean, making it actually suitable for swimming.  I was delighted to find out it’s only a 10 minute bike ride from my house.

I’ll be back on this path on the next nice day, probably on my bike to see if I can explore as far as the headlands.

Until then, I will just keep enjoying the view of this area from my window, and admiring this statue on my commute to school.

Leave a Reply

