Short and Sweet: Week in Review 15/7 – 19/7

I can’t believe that we’re already half way through June.  I only have six more weeks left in Berlin and then barely a week on Long Island before school starts again.  To say this summer is going too fast would be an understatement.

But on the plus side, I’m seeing my German improve rapidly as well.  In the next six weeks I’ll finish the B1 level and be about halfway through B2 by the time I have to go.

This week of course, I just started B1, and I’m already learning more complicated grammar. It’s basic, but it’s the sort of thing that makes the difference between only being able to say, “there is a dog on the stoop, he sits there often” and, “I can see the dog is back on that stoop, he’s always sitting there”.  It’s really easy to take not even realize how ridiculous grammar is until you’re trying to say anything with even a tad of complexity in a foreign language and you’re just not sure how to formulate it.

On Friday I went with some friends to see Jurassic World.  It was dubbed in German, so I know that I didn’t get all of the dialogue, but at points I was actually getting very involved and would be a little surprised when I realized that they were speaking German!  Anyway, I really really liked it, it made me want to watch the other Jurassic park movies again, and also Primeval.  It’s a British TV show about where holes in space time open up and let dinosaurs through, and really anything about dinosaurs and people interacting (in fiction!!!) is a good thing in my book.

And then on Saturday it was time for an outing.  When I was in Berlin two years ago, my host mother took me to this really out of the way swimming hole, only locals really know about it and so yesterday I took my friends there.   

 
It rained on the journey but thankfully once we got there it was nothing but sunny.

The lake is in an area of Berlin called Onkel Toms HΓΌtte, which in English is of course Uncle Tom’s Cabin.  The novel was a huge success in Europe after its publication, I can remember learning about that in High School, but it’s quite surreal to find an entire neighborhood in Berlin named after an American abolitionist novel.

  
We spent the whole afternoon on the lake side, swimming, listening to music and just hanging out.  We even spotted some wild pigs while we were leaving, over all a very nice day.

   
Lots of duck families were out and about.

   
Can you see the Mommy pig and her babies? There’s two.

Which brings us to today.  Unfortunately, it rained quite a lot, and we even had some thunderstorms today, so I just stayed inside and watched Netflix today.

This week I’m looking forward to ever more German and checking out some new cafes.  My friend just sent me a link to a Berlin based food blog, and it looks so good that I can’t wait to check out some of the recommendations.  (Thanks Chloe!!) and I hope everyone has an excellent week!

Leave a Reply

