End of the Year: Week in Review 4/5 – 10/5

This is it guys, the end of my Junior year has come and I am rapidly approaching the moment when I will have to leave Paris is just under two weeks away.  I’m still trying to wrap my head around it all, but here’s what I’ve been up to this week.
I only had a few classes this week; my Smith courses, and the last Medieval History class.  No surprises from any of my classes, everyone was very happy in both the Writing class and the History class that they were over, and our potluck in Theater was a lot of fun.  Since classes finished  on Thursday I’ve been doing a lot of studying in the past few days.  During a presentation, one student wasn’t able to name all four of the regents of France’s King Charles IV and our TA became quite frustrated and mentioned that the knowledge of all of the Kings of England and France should be considered a minimum of knowledge for the final exam.  Which was fun to find out.  I was actually so thrilled to find out I made Monday’s video about the different University systems in France and the U.S. So I’ve been memorizing all of those Kings, it’s been fun.

 Cartoon diagrams help a lot.  Also chocolate.

I think I’ll have both lines of succession on lock down by tomorrow, then I can move on to actual events, although you do pick up a lot of the events when you study the succession.   
Other than that I didn’t do a whole lot this week.  I sent my parents tea for Mother’s Day which was a big hit, and I postponed Coffee Time semi-on purpose to Sunday to make metaphorical pancakes in bed.  And I watched Netflix.  A lot.  I mostly stayed away from Netflix this year, but this week I watched both Daredevil, which was good but felt like an entire season of exposition, season 2 should be great though, and also the Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt, which was really great. And then today Grace & Frankie came out, I’m about half way through right now and it’s exactly as funny and sweet and sad and awesome as I’d hoped it would be.  But how could it not be with its cast and its premise? Sam Waterson and Martin Sheen are law partners who leave their wives, Jane Fonda and Lily Tomlin, for each other.  Grade A plus with garlands.

This week, apart from studying, I’m packing and shipping my crap to the U.S.  This evening I’m buying my ticket to Berlin.  I’m also doing stuff like going to the end of year lunch, visiting Giverny, and closing my bank account.  I can hardly even believe that the end of the year is here, it went so unbelievably fast and I feel like this summer is just going to whip by.  I’m just a moment away from being a senior, visiting Long Island and friends I haven’t seen in over a year, and not living in a city anymore.  August is going to be full of some crazy radical transitions, I’m glad I have some time but I know I need to recognize that it’s coming.

Anyway, that’s what I’ve been up to.  I hope you’ve had a good week, and a good Mother’s Day if you have reason to celebrate, I’ll write again soon!

Leave a Reply

