Trip in Review: Copenhagen

Totals: 7 pastries, 2 magnets, 1 video, and 50+ miles in five days and five nights.

I am writing this in my cabin on the ferry to Oslo, as I was standing on deck this afternoon watching the Copenhagen skyline fade away into the blues of the sea and the sky I was honestly very sad and unprepared to be leaving.  Tomorrow morning I’ll be excited to disembark in Norway but for now I’m going to hold onto Denmark a little more.

So I arrived on Thursday night both excited to finally be in the city I’ve wanted to live in for three years now and worried that it wouldn’t be all that.  I took a taxi to my hotel which only opened a month ago and had a commercial awkward enough to land it on Buzzfeed, it was actually a really cool place and only one block away from the central train station.  It was also cheap, which is why I picked it.

 

  

Some decorations, the lighting is weird because it’s all artisanal light bulbs. 

Anyway, the next morning I set off.  I had a map but I didn’t use it at all, I really just wanted to wander to get my bearings and a sense of the city.  It turns out that the city isn’t that big, 1.2 million people, is utterly flat, and is optimized for pedestrians and bikes, so I was really easily able to see almost all of the city center my first day.  

That afternoon I went to the National Museum, which is free, and which has awesome Viking and pre-historical artifacts, including an entire room full of Runestones!!

  

My first time seeing Runestones in person, and not long till I’ll be able to read them.

I was obviously very happy in this museum and read literally every wall blurb in the Viking rooms.  And other than that, I really just exploded the city every day, and spent a lot of time sitting in Kongens Have.

  

It’s just so nice.

  

But anyway the sights are the sights, let’s move on to the important stuff.

food

You saw that I mentioned an obscene number of pastries up top right? If not I’ll repeat, 7 pastries.  Whenever I travel I always buy the things I can’t get where I’m from.  Which is why I immeadiately bought a white peach fanta and liquorice and then headed to a bakery.  I can obviously get obscene numbers of pastries in Paris as well but and I know this is blasphemous, I kind of like Danish/Scandinavian pastries more.  Bear with me, but French pastries are really fancy, even the more simple ones, not that Danish pastries are really simplistic, they’re mostly just less snooty.  They also use a lot of spices that the French just never use, and that I happen to love, we’re talking cinnamon and cardamom here.  These are my favorites and I can’t even find a grocery store that sells cardamom in Paris.  So I bought at least two pastries every day and it wa fantastic. And I don’t have any pictures to show you, because I was too busy eating the pastries.

Next up in the food category is the humble hotdog.  Hotdog stands are a Copenhagen tradition, since 1921 and the carts are all over, and they include some fancy organic ones to match Copenhagen’s gourmet scene. (I walked past more Michelin star restaurants in my few days in Copenhagen than I have this year in Paris) anyway, there are several types of hotdogs you can get, the word is pølser, the traditional one is a bright red color for reasons and is called a røde pølser, guess what røde means? It’s usually served with a side of bread and ketchup and mustard for dipping.  Next up is a French hotdog, which is a sausage shoved into a hole in a half a baguette, with some sort of condiment and about two inches of hotdog sticking out.  Finally is the classic hotdog, a sausage in bread (not a hotdog bun per se) with mayonnaise, ketchup, mustard, French fried onions, and sweet pickles.  I am normally not a hotdogs with things on them type of girl being from New York and everything, but this is really good and I may try to recreate it in future.

  

Yum.

And finally, ice cream. Always the proper note to end on, there isn’t a lot to say here so I’ll just leave you with this: vanilla soft serve (called soft ice) dipped in hotchocolate mix.  It’s the best thing ever and I can’t believe I’ve never thought of it before.

design

Copenhagen is a very fashionable city, in every sense. I for example need to do some online shopping as soon as I get back to Paris.  Everything about the city is very good looking, from the cafes, to shop window displays, to the incredible interior design stores they’re so famous for.  Even the baby carriages are ridiculously good looking.  And at the same time it’s all very functional.  The fashion for instance is all black everything (leggings, skirts with tights, jeans, etc) with a gray scarf and nice sneakers.  Everything goes with everything and you’re comfy and practically dressed and you look great.  The furniture is of course all Scaninavian modern which basically just means it’s the most practical stuff ever and it has really nice clean lines.  And the baby carriages you ask?  Think old fashioned pram but with breaks and a suspension system and the seat tilts up to accommodate your baby as it grows and it has a built in sleeping bag because it is Scandinavia after all.  (This seems to be THE brand if you want a euro-chic baby)

Anyway, what I’m saying is everything is very aesthetically pleasing, and being in a beautiful environment always feels great.

conclusion

That seems to be the end of my Copenhagen adventure, I’m arriving in Oslo in under an hour and I’m now ready to start exploring this new country! But I will be back, there’s something very special about Copenhagen and I look forward to doing everything I can to spend a LOT of time there.  See you soon ❤

Leave a Reply

