Getaway Time! Week in Review 2/3 – 8/3

This week was a whirlwind of cool new things happening, so let’s get started!

I’m actually going to work backwards this week, so today I decided to check the dates of my Spring Break and do a little bit of price checking to see if my preliminary plans were at all viable.  As it turns out, my plans were not only viable, they were bordering on being a ba

rgain.  I will be spending five days in Copenhagen and then taking an overnight ferry to Oslo before flying back to Paris.  I don’t have hotels yet, but as it is I am so unbelievably excited right now.  I have been trying to get to Copenhagen since my first year at Smith, it is the city that I want to live in as an adult, and now I’m finally going.  And I get to go to Oslo too! One of the cities I where my first choice grad program is located.  The only bummer is that Paris VII has a two week spring break, but Smith’s is only one so I can’t go as long as I’d like too, but that second weekend might be the perfect time to get over to the UK, I’ll scope that out soon.

Moving backwards to Saturday, the Smith JYA had our third group outing, this time to Lille in the north.  These are always a lot of fun because Smith pays for everything, we got croissants and coffee in the morning, then a guided tour of the Palais des Beaux-Arts in the afternoon, followed by a humongous lunch with drinks, and then a guided tour of the city center.  On the train ride back, I saw possibly the most spectacular sunset I’ve ever seen, the entire sky turned high liter pink, it was awesome but my camEra couldn’t quite focus on the colors, so I just have to remember it.

Friday saw the announcement of a new feature over on my Youtube channel, Coffee Time!  As I explain in the video here, Friday afternoon tea is something I’ve really been missing about Smith, so I’m digitizing it! Now you too can enjoy this lovely tradition from anywhere and at anytime.  I’ll be posting new Coffee Time vlogs every Friday in addition to my normal Monday videos.

And then we’re back into the school week, nothing remarkable happening there, but it is worth noting that I got a confirmation email that I’ll be back in Lawrence next year, and confirmation that my minor was changed to Medieval Studies.  It’s almost time to register for my Senior year which is both sad and terribly exciting.  I don’t want to leave Paris but I’m excited to take real Smith courses again.

Anyway, that was my week. Hope you had a good one

Leave a Reply

